Staff & Leaders

St Columba's Church Warren Huffa

Parish Priest –  Revd Dr Warren Huffa

Warren comes to St Columba’s with a desire to continue to integrate deeper spiritual wisdom into his life. He has a passion for theology and understanding the Bible, and making space for others to learn and minister.

Read his reflections here.

Julie Ascher-Ellis

Family and Children’s Worker –  Julie Ascher-Ellis

Julie enjoys working with families and young people of all ages and comes to us with vast experience both in the church setting and currently through her work in local schools as a pastoral support worker. And before turning her skills to this ministry Julie completed a PhD in Agricultural Science.

Julie Ascher-Ellis

Pastoral Ministry Worker – Ann Nadge

Ann has worked in a variety of pastoral, educational and leadership roles. She seeks to engage creatively with others to explore the richness and mysteries of faith. Ann is a published poet.

Parish Warden of St Columba's Church, Elizabeth Bleby.

Priest’s Warden – Elizabeth Bleby

Elizabeth came to the parish as a teenager and joined the Youth Fellowship. After her marriage at St Columba’s, she and her family continued their involvement with the church. Her roles have included membership of Parish Council and a previous term as Warden.  She values taking part in study opportunities and has recently written an updated version of the parish history.

Parish Warden of St Columba's Church, Elizabeth Bleby.

Neville Haar – People’s Warden

After many years living in rural South Australia, Neville moved to Hawthorn in 1989 and became a parishioner at St Columba’s Church. He has been immersed in many aspects of parish life; including several years on Parish Council, organising the annual fete, looking after the Church’s audio and video equipment and maintenance and repairs to buildings.

Parish Council

Ann Nadge, Wendy Thomas, Mark Engelhardt, Lynette Hawes, Julie Ascher-Ellis, Stroma Hagger, and Mike Lucas are our current Parish Councillors, and together with the the the Parish Priest and Wardens, Elizabeth Bleby and Neville Haar, comprise the Parish Council. Wendy Thomas also acts as Treasurer.